A Room and Ten More

by Jun the Writer


Joshua went home later than usual after a night of drinking with friends. When his wife confronted him and, having lost the argument (and his temper in the process), he killed her in a drunken fit. A while later, he took his gun and then his life.

When he came to, he saw a well-dressed man sitting next to him. On his back were a pair of beautiful golden wings. The man cocked his head to one side and smiled.

“You’re finally awake.”

“I’m dead aren’t I?” Joshua asked.

“Yes.”

“You’re an angel aren’t you, you’re going to take me to heaven?”

“Of a sort.”

“I don’t understand..”

“Well I’m still an angel that much is true.”

“You’re the devil?”

“Guilty as charged, though I was only following orders mind you. But there are loopholes in his majesty’s omnipotence and I’m the hole, so I had to get kicked out. There’s no room for people like us in heaven.”

“Where will you take me then?” Joshua asked. The answer was pretty obvious but he blurted it out, out of fear perhaps.

The devil turned to him and smiled.

“Where I live there’s always a room and ten more.”

