Cradle in the Sky (You Were There)

by R.T. Allenson


Hands trembling and heart beating, the sense of falling overcoming everything. My eyes meet yours and instantly, I am lost in it. I feel like falling right there into the deepness of your stare and with courage I hold on to you, I hold your hand and you clasp it firmly…and in that moment I am sure of everything.

We’re flying, you and I, in a cradle in the sky some twenty feet up in the air – holding each other’s hands as we take in everything so far. There’s a certain clarity when you fall – you take in everything as it all flashes before you in an instant. The memories leading up to here are evident as well as the things we said to each other and the things we read in-between the lines. We’ve pierced the veil of truth, you and I, but the indifferent barrier between us still stands. It’s a difficult thing to destroy but it’s something in the end we’ll overcome.

Shyly, I turn away from you to stare at the amber-colored sky and though it’s a beautiful sight, I can’t stop looking at you. You smile nervously just as I turn back to you and your eyes start looking for something in my own that I can’t place. I want to tell you something you already know, but it’s easier to show these things. I am lost in it, the deepness of your stare and once more I feel like falling…and I do.

Slowly I fall into you, bridging the gap between the two of us as my lips find yours. Your hand clasps mine tightly and I feel my heart racing faster. It’s magical and I want so badly for it to last forever…

…and I know it would, cause you were there to catch me when I was falling. You were there. We’re flying, you and I, in a cradle in the sky some twenty feet up in the air, holding each other’s hands as we take in everything so far. We’re flying high in the sky across the ocean of our love and I’m not afraid anymore, cause you were there.

 

